Introduction, part 2

While I was in college at UC Davis, continuing my interest in film, I ran the Entertainment Council Film Program – a series of classic films, forgotten gems, and other films that we could rent.  When I graduated, I returned to LA, and tried to plot how I’d get in to the entertainment business.  A guy I’d worked with on the Entertainment Council told me that a great way to start was in the mailroom at a talent agency.  I’d heard stories about people getting their start in the mailroom (I think I’d heard about David Geffen starting at WMA), and that sounded good, so that’s what I set out to do.

I interviewed at all the big talent agencies, William Morris, ICM, CAA.  I still have those interviews vividly in my mind.  At my CAA interview, they told me they’d just hired someone, and it would probably be two or three months before they would have an opening.  In the meantime, through a family friend, I had an interview at a small music agency called Regency Artists.  They were mostly in the adult contemporary business, representing artists like Julie Andrews, Johnny Mathis and Glen Campbell, but knew they were headed into contemporary music.  They made me an offer to start the following Monday.  Just out of college, I was weighing “Monday” with “two or three months,” and “Monday” won.  In retrospect, it was a “Sliding Doors” moment, the other path would have led me to a totally different career path.

P1040410

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by romasha on December 11, 2013 at 6:36 am

    Brad nice to read your story! So much good content here! Thanks, Romasha

    Reply

    • Posted by Gelfo on December 11, 2013 at 8:16 pm

      THANKS!!!! I’m working on it daily. I’m just not sure how much I should include. It’s a work in progress. I’ve got a great new one I’m posting today. I want to give you a call (hopefully this afternoon) to check in with you about what more I should add.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

